{Touch} Running Chronicles: Pusher

Image

I get this feeling that you’d like to know more about me.

Either that or I’m just making an excuse to tell you more about me.

Does it matter?

Not to me.

Image

Grab your tea or coffee. Let’s talk.

In case you haven’t read far enough into my blog, I’m a runner.

I run six days a week. Some times twice a day.

I’m NOT addicted to anything during the run:

PAIN when I push hard;

and FEAR when confronted by wild animals or barking dogs.

But I AM addicted to the effects of running:

Release of ENDORPHINS,

and a boost of extra ENERGY.

I’m not sure if being motivated is an innate trait of mine.

But I rarely let myself give up.

Image

About a month ago, I started feeling sluggish during my runs.

I didn’t want to take a break from running so I did the next best thing:

I bumped up the game. I started timing my runs.

Image

The method worked.

My time has improved by about four minutes, comparing the first time I started timing myself to my fastest time.

Yet I still have an issue.

I don’t know when enough is enough.

Image

Last week, I felt my body and legs sore. They were telling me they needed a break, even just for a day.

But I didn’t listen.

Maybe because I’m scared that if I ever stopped my routine, I won’t be able to get my rhythm back.

Image

I know in the long run it is not good to not listen to your body.

But I’m a Pusher.

It’s hard to tell a Pusher to stop when the lifestyle is always to go, go, go.

Do you have a strength that is also your weakness? How do you cope with it?

Leave a Reply

