Define Me

Let’s be clear about my diet. I’m mostly vegan because it helps with my digestion, not necessarily for ethical, humane reason. Therefore, for the most part, I don’t eat anything that contains dairy, meat and seafood.

HOWEVER.

I do use honey and don’t cry over it.

If I’m out with friends and I see a dessert  or entree I like that contains dairy, I’m going to buy it and try it.

If I make food for others, I’m not going to try to “veganize” anything unless I’m comfortable with the recipe and I know that person is open to trying vegan cuisine.

So.

I call myself a vegan because that’s my diet for the most part.

Critics might scoff and demote me to a vegetarian.

Fine.

But why should we even have these labels? Why should we have to associate with a type of diet and announce it to the world? Why can’t we just enjoy food, enjoy company?

Isn’t society already judgmental?

The

“nerd”

“weirdo”

“OCD”

“Asian”

“Mexican”

“Whitewashed”

The list can go on.

Here is a sticky.

Here is a pen.

You can define me however you want.

I choose to live life, enjoy food, and accept who I am without the label.

Leave a Reply

