Quinoa Stuffed Spaghetti Squash with Newman’s Own Sauce


I love making use of the ingredients I already have at home.

I normally don’t eat spaghetti squashes but I bought one last weekend simply because the food label read “Organic Spaghetti Squash.” As if “organic” increased the value of the squash tenfold. As if the nameless meal will be orgasmic and foolproof.

Humor me.

I also received as part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker ProgramNewman’s Own pasta sauces and salad dressings! I’m familiar with Newman’s Own since I did a review on Newman’s Own Organics snacks a while back. I was not only ecstatic about the huge bundle of love they had sent me, but also the variety in their products and ability to really taste the quality of their ingredients in each product (if it says cinnamon, I better taste cinnamon).

The assignment for this round of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program was to create a video featuring one of Newman’s Own product.

Okay. Using my organic spaghetti squash and a Newman’s Own product in a recipe? Not so daunting.

Me on video? Ugh…I just want to crawl under the covers (or maybe the kitchen cabinets).

At the same time, this is what I love about the being part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program. It forces me to come out from under my covers and kicks me out of my kitchen cabinets.

So you ready?

Lights. Camera. Newman’s Own!

Quinoa Stuffed Spaghetti Squash

The Squash

½ medium spaghetti squash

1 T extra virgin olive oil

2 cloves garlic, flattened (optional

The Quinoa

¼ cup quinoa, rinsed

½ cup water

3 small bunches of scallions, chopped

The Sauce

1 cup Newman’s Own Cabaret Marinara sauce

½ sweet onion, sliced

2 cloves garlic, minced

½ medium sweet potato, cubed

1 t miso paste

Thanks again Foodbuzz and Newman’s Own! I love you guys! And thank YOU readers for bearing with me on my first video. Stay tuned! More future videos to come!

2 thoughts on “Quinoa Stuffed Spaghetti Squash with Newman’s Own Sauce

  1. This is awesome recipe for a variety of reasons.

    It is gluten free, for those that have an issue with that.

    It is great, warm comfort food.

    And it is easy to make.

    I love quinoa and I am saving this to my favorites list.

Leave a Reply

