Lemon Olive Oil Cake

Today is Girls Day Out.

Mom. Me. Cousin.

Sorry Sister that you can’t join us. Maybe when you come back from college?

Meanwhile, you can live vicariously through my post 🙂

Before we headed out, I made the family some breakfast. I’ve been eyeing Chef Chloe’s Lemon Olive Oil Cake for the longest time and when Foodbuzz and Crisco chose me as one of the people who would receive a free sample of Crisco Olive Oil as part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program, I could hear Chef Chloe calling my name to make her cake.

And that I did.

Except healthier.

Of course.

Lemon Olive Oil Cake

adapted from Chef Chloe

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup oat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup Crisco Light Olive Oil
  • 1/4 cup Crisco Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1/4-1/2 cup of honey
  • ¾ cup water
  • ¼ cup lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons lemon zest

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a Bundt pan.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together oil, honey, water, lemon juice and zest. Pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture and whisk until just combined. Do not over mix.

Fill the prepared Bundt pan evenly with batter. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the cake comes out clean with a few crumbs clinging to it. Be sure to rotate halfway through the baking time. Cool the cake completely before unmolding.

The original recipe called for extra virgin olive oil but the note on the Crisco Light Olive Oil said that the “Light” type would be perfect for baking so I went for it. However, after pouring in half the required amount, I opted to use Extra Virgin Olive Oil because I really wanted the olive oil flavor to shine through in the cake. I must have not put enough extra virgin olive oil because I couldn’t really taste the olive oil (or the lemon) in the cake, but it was still delicious: light, moist and delicate !

Thanks Cisco and Foodbuzz for giving me this opportunity to produce such a scrumptious breakfast snack!

Leave a Reply

