I. O. U.

I don’t like to owe people, money, etc.

My parents taught me this.

“Be debt free! Save up! Pay cash; no credit!”

I did just that.

For the longest time I didn’t use a credit card.

Heck, I thought touching the Card itself was taboo.

I stored it away.

Didn’t look at it.

Until college.

College taught me a lot of things.

Not about the world,

but about how naive I was.

Yes, young people do smoke and do drugs

just like in the movies.

Yes, underage people do drink alcohol

just like in the movies.

But rather than being intrigued by these activities,

I was repulsed.

Weird?

I thought I was.

But I digress.

This isn’t a post detailing my experience in college,

it is a post about IOUs.

So the connection between college and IOUs?

College marked the moment I unraveled the credit card from my stash.

I had to.

My parents weren’t around if I needed extra cash.

The use of the credit card came with a new sense of responsibility.

“Pay back in full when you receive your credit card statements! No interest! No rollover debt”

My parents.

I love them.

Ever since college,

Since the unraveling of the credit card,

I live by two rules when it comes to IOUs:

Always keep your word.

Always pay it back.

So when a friend helped me out with a favor and he proposed that I pay him back with 2 bushels of blueberries,

I kept my word.

I paid him back.

But with some negotiations.

“Blueberries, you say? I can make you some scrumptious blueberry jam muffins.”

Plaster on a big smile.

Act real cute.

Pray he’ll agree.

“What is that? You say you like chocolate chip cookies too? Deal!

Blueberry Jam Muffins

AND

Chocolate Chip Cookies.”

I sealed the deal before he could object.

Blueberry Jam Muffins

adapted from Vegan Brunch

Oven Temperature: 375/Oven Time: 20-25 mins

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 c sugar

1 T baking powder

1/4 t salt

1/2 c buttermilk (1/2 cup of soymilk + juice of 1/2 lemon)

1/4 c soymilk

1/4 cup canola oil

2 T coconut oil

2 t vanilla extra

Dollop of blueberry preserve on each cupcake. Swirl it with a knife.

Confectionary sugar (decorating)

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from PPK

Oven Temperature: 350/Oven Time: 8 mins

1/4 brown sugar
1/8 white sugar
2/3 cup canola oil
1/4 cup soymilk
2 tablespoon sweet rice flour
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cups chocolate chip & dark chocolate candy pieces

Wanna bite?

You might owe me.

Leave a Reply

