Foodbuzz 24×24: A Spring Affair

Every night, before I drift off to sleep, I think of food.

Not just any type of food.

I concentrate on a craving.

It could be the taste of bitter, dark chocolate

Or the smell of big, fluffy, homemade cinnamon buns baking in the oven.

I keep my eyes closed.

My mind plays along with my thoughts, turning every thought into images…

…the images into a movie.

A light smile gently perches on my lips.

My eyes feel heavy.

The movie that’s been playing in my mind begins to blur.

I fall asleep.

The next morning, I may or may not remember these visions.

Luckily, I remembered the last one.

And luckily the wonderful people at Foodbuzz tapped me on the shoulder (through e-mail of course).

They had a call for proposal for April’s 24×24

to propose a spring menu and then create it.

I did.

And here I am to share my vision turned reality.

Thank you, Foodbuzz. You guys sure know how to work a dreamer hard.

Let’s take a tour of the “Spring Affair” shall we?

I woke up early in the morning to go through this jungle.

This was the garden that produced the wonderful salad.

Cilantro. Snap peas. Both of you were amazing.

Fragrant. Sweet.

Vibrant.

Next came the hybrid Asian sour soup.

It was cross between Thai Tom Yum Soup and Vietnamese Canh Chua Ca (Sour Soup).

Limes and tomatoes on a vine produced this Lady in Red.

Beautiful, isn’t she?

Yes, she was stunning but my guests and I needed something heartier to fill our stomachs.

How about some five-grain rice sprinkled with a dash of sea salt and toasted shredded coconut?

Or some cabbage wraps stuffed with creamy taro, quinoa and sesame seeds?

You see that sauce drizzled on top?

That came from my dream too.

Daydream that is.

I envisioned the recipe half an hour before the guests were due.

Yikes.

Let’s try not to go through that again.

(Yes, the sauce turned out excellent! Why thank you for asking!)

Now let’s turn to the stars of the meal.

Vegetarian Spring Rolls and Meat Lover’s Delight.

I must have not been throughly enjoying my life before I met these guys.

Chewy rice wrapper.

Crunchy, refreshing filling.

Plus a sauce that was to die for.

Brodard, you’ve got some competition.

What? You want the recipe too?

Well, I suppose I could be as generous as Foodbuzz and share the recipe with my lovely readers…

Mmmm…Sauce

1/4-1/2 cup homemade peanut butter

1/4 cup fish sauce

1 lightly steamed carrot

Squirt of honey to taste

Dash of sea salt

Half of a lime juice

Water if needed

Blend ingredients in a food processor. Adjust amounts (i.e., add more salt, more honey) as necessary.

And after all these foods have been tasted, critiqued and bellied, what’s a meal without dessert, right?

So I teased my guests with an abundance of fruits.

Then had their eyes and tongues wandering towards the real treat.

Orange Chiffon Cake with Orange Mousse.

Imagine chiffon cake (lightly) dipped in a pool of freshly made orange juice.

Topped with a layer of taro cream.

Topped with another another layer of whipped orange mousse.

Garnished with the zest of an organic orange.

Then, hold your breath as your first guest take their first bite of the cake.

Let out a big sigh of relief as guests back for second and third helpings.

Give yourself an imaginary pat on the back and thank the Food Gods for the success.

Now this is the part of the narrative where it might disappoint readers to hear that our bellies were stuffed.

But we adapted.

We decided to take a break and went on a short excursion.

Some of us (me) decided to climb up a tree.

Others went up a ladder.

And some others of us (one) even had a pleasant conversation with a dog.

What can I say?

We’re lively people!

And guess what the remainder of us did when we got back to the house?

Continue the party of course.

Banana Vanilla Ice Cream.

Couldn’t have been easier to make and more satisfying to the palette after being out on a hot day.

But c’mon.

Faux ice cream using frozen bananas? Those are for the health nuts.

I hear you.

So let me make it up to you guys.

French Toast Stuffed with Melted Swiss Cheese and Creamy Dark Chocolate.

Don’t forget the powdered sugar.

Don’t drool. You’ll dirty your computer.

Don’t moan. People around you might think you’re weird.

Do however, walk to your nearest kitchen and make this.

So the party ends here.

Thank you, Friends & Family for the wonderful company.

Thank you, Foodbuzz for the generosity and support.

I’m heading to bed now.

Closing my eyes.

And envisioning my next creation,

The next “Spring Affair.”

2 thoughts on “Foodbuzz 24×24: A Spring Affair

  1. Pingback: A Taste of Donuts | Bake Me

Leave a Reply

