Epiphany

1. My sister and I are klutz.I like to break bowls, drop lunch containers, and spill water from my water bottle and splash it all over my co-worker’s computer monitor. My sister likes to fall down the front steps of Souplantation, scrape her knees, call the manager for reinforcements. By reinforcements, we meant a gauze, wet paper towel and 2 band-aids.

2. When I walk, I waddle like a duck. Either that or a pregnant lady. Take your pick. My sister, on the other hand, walks like a slug. Yes. We are animals at heart.

3. I like my yoga pants and running shoes and nature walks and the outdoors.

My sister likes her pajamas, headphone and computer.

4. We are picky, stubborn people who secretly love attention. Hey, what girl doesn’t!

5. I like salads and healthy foods.

My sister pretends to like healthy foods but her inner calling craves junk food and sweets.

Nevertheless, I sneak in the healthy stuff anyways. I’ll be a great mom some day.

Chocolate Wafers

adapted from Chef Chloe’s Vegan Thin Mints Girl Scout Cookies

Wafer Cookies
1 ¼ cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup sugar
½ cup cocoa powder
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon baking soda
½-¾ cup coconut oil, melted
3 tablespoons nondairy milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Chocolate Coating
4 cups dairy-free semi-sweet chocolate
2 tablespoon coconut oil, melted

Wafer Cookies
Use a whisk to mix flour, sugar, cocoa powder, salt, and baking soda until well combined. Melt the coconut oil and combine with milk and vanilla. Pour the dry mixture into the wet mixture.  Use a your hands to knead the mixture until it forms into a dough. Chill the dough in the refrigerator for 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line two large baking sheets with parchment paper or silpats. Remove dough from refrigerator. Roll a heaping teaspoon of cookie dough into a ball and place onto prepared baking sheets, leaving about 3 inches in between each ball. Evenly flatten the dough with your fingertips so that it is about ¼ inch thick and bake for 12-14 minutes. Let cool completely.

Chocolate Coating
Melt chocolate chips and coconut oil in the microwave. Mix until smooth. Dip completely cooled cookies into the chocolate and wipe off excess chocolate with a spoon or fork Place cookies on a parchment-lined plate or tray and refrigerate until chocolate coating sets. Store in the refrigerator.

6. Differences aside, we’re sisters. We’re stuck together for life. But life has never been so good as having a sibling around.

Leave a Reply

