Contradictory Love Letters

Dear Buttercream Frosting,

I didn’t believe in you; the non-vegan, fattening ingredients that composed the bane of your existence. Yet you whipped up so nicely, so easily that you almost converted me back into the meat-loving, dairy hoarding person I was a year and a half ago.

Your fluffy, marshmallow self was sure a cute and delicious addition to the yogurt cake.

But no. I may look but I don’t touch…nor lick.

That’s what omnivorous younger sisters are for.

Buttercream Frosting

Serving size: 4

3/4 cup confectionary sugar

2 tablespoons softened butter

splash of milk

sprinkle of salt

Use a egg beater and those arm muscles to whip the ingredients until it resembles frosting.

****************************

 

Dear Seitan,

You probably saved my life when it comes to getting enough protein in my diet. I suddenly couldn’t remember how life was before you.

I made you by hand from whole wheat flour and didn’t cheat by using vital wheat gluten. You came out looking like poop but you tasted chewy, like soybean curd.

I like you.

Looks aren’t everything.

Life isn’t black and white.

One thought on “Contradictory Love Letters

Leave a Reply

