Inactively Active

I haven’t been here in a while.

“Here” as in my blog.

Not because I don’t have anything to say to you all but more so that I’ve been enjoying life for what it’s really worth.

I’ve been outdoors, exploring the world and reconnecting with friends and family.

I’ve also been indoors, reliving my joy of baking.

Alton Brown’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve also been a bit mischievous…

…and staged some faux cupcakes to honor a friend’s birthday.

I sent this picture to her as her birthday card and promised I’d make them for her when she came back home:

Friend, if you are reading this, please know I had the best intentions in mind.

My time constraints shouldn’t act as an excuse but this “cupcake” sure came out good.

Wanna know the secret?

1) Inside the cupcake liners were filled with blueberries.

2) The “mocha frosting” was made by blending raw cashews, cocoa powder, and a squirt of honey

3) The “chocolate frosting” was made by blending almonds, cashews, cocoa power, and raisins

4) A chocolate chip to dot the cupcake

5) Millet puffs to act as sprinkle

Don’t worry Friend, I will make you some real ones when you get back. Unless this raw version will satisfy your sweet tooth as it did to mine.

We can negotiate.

Anyways, now that I’ve popped my head in to tell all of you that I’m still alive, I’ve also made a promise to a blogger to show her how I make use of this fascinating super food called chia seeds.

I first heard about chia seeds from Heather ofย HEABs. I was intrigued after reading about itsย benefits and searched online to see if I can purchase any. The prices were outrageous in my opinion so I decided to try my luck at local markets. I found them at the Henry’s Farmers Market near my house for $11.99/lb but I still couldn’t bear to fork over my wallet.

Luckily I waited because the following week, I saw an ad from a Mediterranean market that sold them for only $4.99/lb! I couldn’t believe my eyes and quickly rushed over to buy them.

I usually turn these seeds into chia gel by mixing 1 tbsp of chia seeds with approximately 7 tbsp of water. The default ratio is 1:9; 1 tbsp of chia seeds to 9 tbsp of water but I like my gel thicker, thus less water.

After the seeds have formed into gel (which takes about 10 mins), I mix the batch into my smoothies.

Yam smoothie w/ homemade soy yogurt

The seeds blend very well and adds a nice crunch to the smoothie. I heard that if you substitute water for any other liquid (such as fruit juice or coconut milk) the gel will take on that taste!

I really advocate you trying this superfood if you haven’t already ๐Ÿ™‚

All in all, I’m enjoying my summer but I’ll try to stop by more often to tell all of you about my adventures.

I hope all of you will stop by often to read about them too!

4 thoughts on “Inactively Active

  1. I would LOVE the raw version of the cupcake. Oh my gosh, that sounds divine, and your yam smoothie looks like soft serve ice-cream…my kind of smoothie. Happy to hear you’re enjoying your summer – love the turtle photo. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

