All For You

I don’t want food to take over my life but learning to take better care of myself has really made me critical of what I eat.

I’m not looking to diet or restrict myself of certain foods but rather, I want to put into my body things that will make me happy.

However, I haven’t had time to prepare my food. I try to wake up extra early in the morning to make my food because I’m too drained out by the end of the day the night before. I end up with half-prepared, unsatisfied meals.

I end up trying to satisfy other people’s happiness while neglecting my own.

I end up making them Cream Cheese Cookies and Crazy Nutella Pancakes while I cry in my puddle of too salty yet too bland salad.

CREAM CHEESE COOKIES

adapted from AllRecipes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened (I used margarine)
  • 1 (3 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Filling

  • 1 melted cube of Baker’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate
  • 2 tbsp Nutella
  • 1tbsp Cocoa Powder
  • Add milk to blend to desired consistency

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Lightly grease cookie sheets.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together butter, cream cheese, and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in egg yolk and vanilla. Stir in flour until well blended. Drop dough by spoonfuls or use a cookie press to place onto prepared cookie sheets. Make an indentation in the center with a thimble, fill with preserves, or press candy into center.
  3. Bake for 15 minutes in preheated oven.

CRAZY NUTELLA PANCAKES

adapted from Bob’s Red Mill


Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 1 c milk
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt

Mix dry and wet ingredients together. Pour mix into griddle. When edges start bubbling up, place a small scoop of Nutella into the center of the pancake. Flip pancake over and let it cook for about 1 more minute. Enjoy with toppings of your choice!

So let’s go back to me and my needs. I’m trying to find my happy place with food. I shouldn’t be so picky but right now, I really want to listen to my body. I think once I have that under control, I can start listening and enjoying the food others are sharing with me.

If preparing my food during the week is troublesome, then I want to try preparing 80% of my food options during weekends.

Just like in a relationship with a person, I really want my relationship with food to work.

One thought on “All For You

  1. You’re so talented! Everything looks amazing. I admire you for trying to find that balance- I hate it when busy weekends prevent me from making lunches and I have to grab random stuff.

Leave a Reply

