Perfect

On my most recent run, I went through the residential streets of Arcadia. The perfectly mowed grass, white picket fences, elongated houses and mansions kept me mesmerized the whole time.

I wondered if these seemingly lovely homes housed happy, loving families.

I wondered if their perfect homes reflected their perfect lives.

No one is perfect. No one’s life is perfect.

I’ve become more clear of this these past few weeks as I emerge out of my hermit cave and reconnect with old friends. They’ve confided in me the problems in their personal lives and suddenly, the stress and problems in my life seemed so much smaller compared to theirs.

I couldn’t relieve their stress  as they were able to relieve mine just by listening.

I felt like a complainer. I felt selfish for believing that my issues were much worse.

Yet after we purged our worries onto one anther and the wrinkles gradually disappeared from our foreheads, we laughed, joked and made rice krispies treats as if our lives were perfect and content.

Recipe:

6 cups rice krispies cereal

3 tbsp butter

1 bag marshmallows

Directions: Melt the butter. Add the marshmallows until it produces a smooth mixture. Stir in the cereal and quickly pour into a greased pan. Press down to make sure mixture is compact. Wait until cool, cut and enjoy!

We were like the houses in Arcadia, pristine and perfect on the outside. On the inside housed all the troubles we forbid the world to know.

4 thoughts on “Perfect

  1. I think we all occasionally feel like the grass is greener on the other side. But EVERYONE feels that way, so can it really be true?

    The rice krispies treats look so yummy. A total kick-back from my childhood..they would be sure to put me in a good mood!

  2. Hi Yao, I found you through Burp and Slurp! This post resonated with me b/c I often get caught up in my own worries only to (finally) realize there are others with worries much bigger than my own. Just knowing that immediately reduces the stress. I’m glad you found solace in your friends. As for the Crispy Treats–have you ever tried browning the butter before making them? It’s so good! I have a brown butter crispy treat recipe posted if you want to try it: http://reciperhapsody.wordpress.com/2009/11/20/salted-brown-butter-crispy-treats/

Leave a Reply

