BakeMe: I am What I Cook

Rarely is any fruit or veggie bigger than my head. I have a big head. My mother told me I had trouble coming out during her pregnancy because my head was too big.

However, I met my match today.

Kabocha. No match for my head but maybe my butt.

I’m a fan of kabocha because of its creamy, thick and rich texture.

I’m also a fan of Burp and Slurp. Most recently, Miss Burp and Slurp has initiated the I am What I Cook Contest and like any avid fan, I immediately joined in on the Burping and Slurping.

Hey Sophia, I should become your PR person. Where else can you get so much kissing up promotion in one paragraph just to win a contest? 🙂

Okay, in all seriousness now, THANK YOU Sophia for coming up with this brilliant idea. I’ve been waiting for a challenge like this because this is what my blog is supposed to be all about : baking a masterpiece that resonates who I am.

However, I’m torn as to who I am. Over the past few days, I’ve failed countless recipes in trying to create the best of me. In the end, 7 hours before the contest is over, I’ve decided on this final creation.

For now, this “masterpiece” describes who I am now, who I aspire to be, and the part of Me I hope to leave behind.

Key Ingredients:

KABOCHA: Thick-skinned, soft-heart

SOYBEAN CURD aka ” THE NOODLES”: Flexible, adaptable, Chinese

GREENS (asparagus, Romaine lettuce, avocado): Pure, simple, outdoorsy

“Yao” Wo 要我 Noodles

If you said my name using the fourth tone in Chinese, my name becomes the word “want.” Since this recipe is about wanting, desiring–perhaps even learning to love who I am–I’ve named my creation “Want Me.”

Whether you really want me, whether you really find me likable or not, is not important. What is really important is that I desire who I am and continue to pursue and radiate off the best of me. Isn’t that what we’re all constantly trying to learn on one level or another? Learning to love ourselves.

Recipe:

1/4 kabocha (or however much you desire), chopped into cubes

3 stocks of asparagus, chopped

5 Romaine lettuce leaves, chopped

~ Handful of homemade Kimchi

1/2 box of tofu, chopped into cubes

5 sheets of fresh soybean curd noodles, sliced to resemble noodles

1/2 avocado sliced to place as topping

salt to taste

dash of broth

Directions: Drizzle a bit of oil into the pan. Stir fry asparagus and lettuce with a sprinkle of salt to taste. Put in the kimchi and stir fry until the spicy taste of the kimchi becomes immersed with the vegetables. Add in the kabocha. Toss in the tofu and drizzle in a bit of broth for moisture. When all ingredients are cooked, place and set aside in a plate.

Cook the soybean curd with a sprinkle of salt to taste. When almost cooked, place initial stir fry ingredients into the pan and mix until well integrated. Top dish with slices of avocados for aesthetics.

Acceptance is one of the hardest things but how can I reject who I am?

This is me. Loud and proud. Thick-skinned, soft-heart, flexible, adaptable, Chinese, pure, simple, outdoorsy.

Want me. 要我. Have you wanted yourself lately?

4 thoughts on “BakeMe: I am What I Cook

  1. This sounds so delicious. A very creative dish from what I’m guessing is a very creative person. I also love the play on words for the name – nice.

    Thanks for the comment on my food blog, loved having you stop by!

  2. Um, I dunno about wanting myself…but wo zhen de yao that amazing dish!!! GIRL! This is one freaking fantastic dish!!!!
    And lol, I would totally hire you as my PR girl. I’d pay you with my cooking. 😉

  3. Kabocha is my absolute favorite winter squash! I’m loving this pasta dish…between that and the avocado…you’ve got all my favorite ingredients.

  4. Oh yes, I remember this pic from the challenge but am only now looking at your post for it! It was one of my favorites and I love your blog as much as the dish itself. How you identified yourself in each ingredient–brilliant & beautiful. I have never had kabocha but I feel I must after hearing how both you and Sophia love it. I don’t even know if I’ve ever seen one for sale here in KS! Now I will def have to keep an eye out for one.

Leave a Reply

