HELLO WORLD: 2010 edition

Yup, I’ve caved in and decided to convert to WordPress because Blogger was just not blogging for me.

Yesterday, while catching up on my usual blog reading, I saw that Sophia from the former Burp and Slurp had transferred to her own domain, I thought, “Why not? I’m sick of wrestling with Blogger. It’s 2010. It’s time for a change.”

So far, all 2 hours of it, WordPRESS is definitely imPRESSing me. Sorry. I’ll stop with the lame joke. In all seriousness, what I like most about WordPress is the variety of gadgets and easy to use features.

Okay. Let’s get down to business. Let’s talk food.

WARNING: Lots of pictures and reviews to follow!

1st up: Kristina from Stonyfield sent me some coupons ages ago. I want to excuse myself by blaming my busy life as a grad student. I want to blame my family for keeping me working on for days as we transition into our new home. But excuses are for those who don’t want to take responsibility for their own actions. Sorry Stonyfield for the delay!

Have I expressed my love for Greek yogurt? Well, if I’ve never mentioned it, I LOVE the THICK, CREAMY texture of Greek yogurt. I usually buy my Greek yogurt plain because those with added flavors tend to be on the sweet side but for the purpose of this review, I’ve venture into new territory.

Surprisingly, the vanilla wasn’t too sweet at all! It was perfect for my taste buds! The yogurt had the same thick and creamy consistency as the plain ones. My only complaint is that the vanilla taste didn’t transcend through as much as I would have liked. The yogurt tasted like cheese with a hint of sugar. Other than that, I’m glad I decided to try the new flavors!

My sister, on the other hand, tried one of Stonyfield’s yogurt:

My sister had started grubbing before I told her that this was chocolate yogurt. Side note: she’s a chocoholic. After the fact though, she screeched, “Where’s the chocolate?!” She only saw vanilla yogurt and failed to read the description that this contained “Vanilla over Chocolate.”

I told her to dig for it. She found gold at the bottom:

Her comments after the taste test: “It was beautiful. It tastes better than your cake.”

Insert peach yogurt cake I had so laboriously worked on for her Christmas party:

You ungrateful little girl. Hmph. Anyways, for those who might enjoy a bite of this cake, here is the recipe:

Peach Yogurt Cake

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup cake flour

1 teaspoon salt

4 teaspoons powdered green tea *didn’t have this on hand either but the peach yogurt worked as a fine substitute

1 1/4 cups white sugar 1/2 cup honey

1 cup vegetable oil * I would lessen this to probably 1/2 cup since you can taste the oil in the cake

3 eggs

1 cup plain peach yogurt * oops…didn’t have plain, sorry!

1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extra

Whipped Cream

1 cup heavy cream

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tbsp confectioners’ sugar

As you can probably tell, the original recipe was for a Green Tea Cake but since I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand, my end product became a Peach Yogurt Cake. I also swirled in some melted chocolate at the center of batter before I bake for decoration purposes.

I also made the whipped cream Asian style, which means, “Oh, don’t measure, just estimate the ingredients, taste it as you make it, and you’ll be fine!”

Yup. That’s what my mama taught me and 90% of the time, it’s been working 🙂

Okay. Sorry for the deviation. Let’s get back to Stonyfield.

My new venture brought me to the next two flavors (displayed above): Good old “Plain Jane” and Blueberry Fruit on the Bottom.

Sorry, I was enjoying it too much and had purposely neglected to take a picture. Basically though, I dumped the two Greek yogurts into a bowl and I enjoyed my breakfast in this mountainous format:

Let’s ignore the Stonyfield yogurt in the background and pretend that this was my breakfast today. With the Greek yogurt,I add 1/2 sweet potato cut into cubes, Trader Joe’s Fiber Cereal, and sometimes, I mix my Better n’ Peanut Butter with a teeny bit of water and pour that over this yogurt mess.

It was thick and filling, which was exactly what I had ordered! I was a bit skeptical about the “fruit on the bottom” because in the past, I’ve tried yogurt brands, such as Yoplait, that fill such a heavy amount of syrup and sugar with minimum fruit that all I end up putting into my body is more sugar. However, Oikos did a good job. The jam-like filling at the bottom definitely wasn’t too sweet or heavy.

After all the taste testing I still am a proud fan of Stonyfield. Thanks Kristina for sending me the coupons! Thanks Stonyfield for generosity to your fans!

If you’re a fan of Stonyfield or just yogurt in general, I found some cool recipe suggestions on their site. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “HELLO WORLD: 2010 edition

  1. lol, you crack me up with your “lame” jokes. I’m glad you made the switch to wordpress! Soon you’ll be strutting up your new domain, too! Hee hee.

    I haven’t had Greek yogurt for 4 months. Time to change that…

Leave a Reply

