Foodbuzz Sargento Taste Test

Jeeze, who would have thought cheese could be so fascinating!

Well, thanks to the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program and their partnership with Sargento, I received a gift card to purchase one of Sargento’s natural cheese variety and a choice of a processed cheese comparable to Sargento.

If you’ve kept up with my blog long enough, you may call me a hypocrite at this point to even consider purchasing cheese let along digesting it.

Did I forget that I’ve gone vegan? This means no egg or dairy products. This means no cheese. No Sargento.

But I’m not a hypocrite.

I have a confession.

I thought turning vegan would make me feel at my best. Energized, productive, happy.

And during this vegan journey, I’ve felt more in tune with my body.

However, my health has been deteriorating.

I haven’t been getting all the proper nutrients that a person needs to function.

I’ve had to take a step back.

I’m slowing incorporating cheese, raw salmon, and chicken broth into my diet. Not out of choice but out of NO choice.

I’m beginning to think that perhaps some people were not meant to be vegans but I’m really hoping that everyone has a choice to chose their diet and that this just isn’t the right time for me to become vegan.

I haven’t given up hope but my health comes first I will do what is necessary to recover and hope to get back on the vegan track soon.

Anyways, I think we’ve had enough of my morbid reality for today, no?

Let’s get back to core topic of this post: cheese. Sargento cheese to be exact.

When I read the list of ingredients on the Sargento package, I was surprised to learn that natural cheese should only include a few ingredients: milk, cheese cultures, enzymes, and salt whereas processed cheese contain emulsifiers and preservatives.

Check this out.

Exhibit A: Sargento Natural Cheese

Exhibit B: Comparable processed cheese

Exhibit B has a scary long list of ingredients compared to Exhibit A, huh? Yup, sure makes me think twice about cheese.

I decided to pick up a package of Sargento Swiss Cheese after witnessing the big shocker and after much browsing for cheese recipes online, I settled on Jenna’s scone recipe for an amazing breakfast.

Swiss Herb Scones

adapted from Eat Live Run

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

1/4 tsp sea salt

3 fresh bay leaves

3-4 slices Sargento Swiss Cheese

1 T baking powder

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

6 T cold butter, cut into small slices

1/2 cup + 2 T milk, cream or half & half (I used coconut milk+ milk)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425.

Whisk together the flour, salt, baking powder and pepper. In a food processor, add the bay leaves (or any herb you have on hand) and cheese slices. Pulverize until fine powder. Add the pulverized cheese and bay leaves with the butter and work mixture together with your fingers until it feels almost like sand. Add the cream and mix until just combined.

Roll the dough to 1 inch thick. Use circle cookie cutter to mold. Bake on a lined baking sheet for 18 minutes until golden brown.

Results?

The cheesy smell emitted so well throughout the kitchen that you would have thought I had installed a cheese scented air freshener!

If you like cheese, then I’d recommend making these now.

Foodbuzz and Sargento, thanks for bringing me to the cheesy side of natural foods!

Leave a Reply

